Cross backed Aprons

Tuesday I went to  fabulous class at the Moore Botanical Gardens in Lake City. I will talk about that more in an upcoming post. I was so inspired and obsessed by my carpool friend, Barbara. She wore THE cutiest apron. It was steel grey linen and crossed in the back.  I had to have a new apron!

This was the first one I made. I used fabric scraps left over from altering chef coats. I dyed the white fabric pieces lavender, sewed them together in and stitched them down. That sounds like a lot, but I had already pieced the fabric together before my apron whim. All I did was cut one large rectangle for the apron, attached straps and added a pocket…I like the design, however the twill fabric is too stiff, I liked Barbara’s Linen fabric… so try number two:

I recycled a long linen skirt I had and instead of square across the front I made more of a neckline, which I really like… I used it last night to cook dinner and then again this morning (thus the wrinkles) and I’m very happy with this one! but…

I have a pile of T-shirts to reuse so, apron number 3:

A little reverse applique! I want to add some hand stitching, around the flower next, maybe. I think this will be my most useful one, not too long, easy to throw on, and it’s already spotted so I don’t care if more cooking splatters happen!

So… What’s under the aprons??? The dress form was already in use before I needed it to model the aprons. I’m creating another knit outfit and here’s a sneak peek, overlook dangling threads, unfinished hems etc….

Here’s a close up of the in process skirt, I have more freehand machine stitching to do to add petals and some hand stitching needs to be added…

 

3 responses

  1. Barbara Streeter | Reply

    Love apron #2. Now I’m obsessed and hope to have a sewing machine soon. Now you’ve inspired me!

  2. I love these!! I miss you!

  3. janiceferguson84951994 | Reply

    What a great post! I hate to cook so the most basic ho-hum apron suits me. But the shirts and your techniques are just wonderful.

Leave a Reply

