Craft Bag copy

I have used the multicolored “Thirty One bag” for about 4 years. I keep a travel hand project, either sewing or knitting ready to go at all times. It’s been everywhere and it’s starting to shred along the bottom seam.

I copy ready made garments so making a pattern from this bag was just measuring rectangles.  The best part of sewing your own garments or projects is making it your own and better than the original! Naturally I had some upgrades in mind. I changed the front pockets. The original ones were an odd size, my lipstick tube would get lost down them and it was tricky getting back out. Pens were too skinny and they would fall out. I think the open pockets will prove to be more useful in my new bag.

Adding a zippered pocket was my first plan. The bag is designed to be an open design which is terrific for knitting and projects, not so good for things you might want to keep out of sight or safe. Thus the zippered pocket. I also added a long inside pocket with snap closure to keep directions or patterns for easy reach and less likely to get crumbled.

I also added a back pocket. I can’t believe the original Thirty One bag didn’t have one, so I added that too by fussing cutting a blue bike from the fabric.

I just love this fabric, I found 4 yards of it in my stash so I must have loved it when I bought it. Can not think where I bought it though. It made for an enjoyable rainy Saturday afternoon.

One response

  1. Jenny Bielefeld | Reply

    Love that!!!

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

