Homemade lazy Kate

If I went to SAFF I would have looked at lazy kates. The one that came on the kiwi gets caught around the front peg and sometimes spins out of control. I wanted a tensioned Kate for this reason.

IMG_1303.JPG

IMG_1305.JPG

IMG_1304.JPG
After a quick look online I found one I wanted to make. It’s basically a square piece of wood with three dowel rods to hold the spools. The tension was to come from a line around the spool grooves and tied on to an eye using a spring for control. Like the tensioning on my kiwi spinning wheel. I found after playing around that felted circles under the spools works much smoother and better for me. I added a garden wire loop to guide the singles through for even plying.
A new to me toy for nothing!!

Leave a Reply

