Farm day!

Not only was it Spring Planting at the Larry Paul Living Museum, but it was Farm day for our family too! Saturday I volunteered at the farm to spin.Oh I had such a terrific day. I love stepping back and taking a break from the rush-rush of our world and doing the simple quiet things.DSCF6905Here are the two wheels I was working with. The Saxony Flax wheel is in the background and I brought my Ashford Kiwi to spin un-dyed Merino wool. I tried my hand at cotton and had some success with the wheel in the back, but that had a few issues that needs to be fixed for longer spinning.

DSCF6903Here are some of the yarns I showed off…

DSCF6904In the morning it was still chilly and this beauty warmed us up quiet nicely! I really want one for my home…. real heat!DSCF6942And here’s a shout out to Cathy… who we miss so much! Wish you were here!!

At my Home, we started our garden too…DSCF6946I t doesn’t look like much, but there’s a lot of work in that!! We have potato’s, onion, peas, squash, cucumbers, lettuce and spinach so far with room for more. I have tomatoes started in planters and we have also planted raspberry and blueberry bushes.  DSCF6944We’ve dug up and removed shrubs and re planted some, move walkways and are in the process of putting them elsewhere and generally are trying to clean up the outside. We still have to parint another coat of stain on th ewhole house and all of the trim…. but inch-by-inch it’s getting there!DSCF6893And…. we have several new additions to our family. June, Shelly, Teresa, Sarah and Hope.  Sadly, Teresa didn’t make it.

DSCF6897The Family outside is eagerly waiting to meet the rest of the clan….

What a great weekend, I think Spring is finally here!!

2 responses

  1. Thanks for the shout out! I miss y’all so much it tugs at my heartstrings that I can’t be there. Terri, your spinning is so lovely…makes me proud ❤

  2. I LIVE DOWN THE STREET FROM THE FARM AND i HAD ASKED IF i COULD SPIN THERE- THEY SAID HAD TO TAKE A CLASS AND BE APPROVED ???? WE USED TO ALL GATHER AND SPIN AT WASHINGTON’S BIRTH PLACE AND DIFFERENT HISTORICAL PLACES IN VA & MD…

Leave a Reply

