My First Yarn

I not only worked so hard for this…. But I learned so much in the process!DSCF6625It’s a yarn…. made of sheep(?) I want to call it an art yarn, but….. that’s not exactly fair, so it’s just my first yarn.

DSCF6623Here it is as I was spinning, or… rather plying. Yes, there are a ~few~ slubs, but… I’m learning. I really can not wait to get better!

I think I found a source for some raw wool this spring, and now, I need to make a pair of wool combs…

This will be a fun journey!

6 responses

  1. I’m so proud of you!

    1. I just washed the wool and… “slapped” in across the table twice. Now it is drying and actually looks a bit more even!

      1. If you have an old window screen, lay it across anything that resembles saw horses and dry your fleece on that. Keep it away from edges which may rust. One warning when drying outside on a windy day…as it dries, it blows across the yard! I like to leave little tidbits on tree branches and you’ll find them in birds’ nests this spring:-)

  2. Its lovely!!!

  3. AWESOME!!!!!! You’re right – this will be a fun journey and I can’t wait to watch you do it!!! I think it is really nice for your first effort! And I can’t wait to see what you’ll be making!

  4. Requested several books for you through ILL. Will let you know when they come in.

Leave a Reply

