Owl Always Love you

Owls are very popular, last weekend the owl was a big hit and then again this weekend it was out in style! I remember back in the 70’s when mushrooms and frogs were popular and now, it’s the owls turn.

 

For a treat this weekend, since I avoid the black Friday craziness (I  stayed home and filled an order for  80 sweatshirts,) Saturday evening the kids and I went out to King Kong Sushi. This was my daughters idea and we have never gone out for sushi like that before. It was so yummy and way better than I thought it would be… anyway… long story short …. We were at Broadway at the Beach and walking around the surprisingly empty shops and I spotted owls everywhere.

I knew I could come up with my own rendition … when ever I have a pondering thought I think about it before I go to sleep and I swear I dream about it all night long and figure out what and how I’m going to create what I want…. and here she is….

Now, I wanted to make several for some gifts and I knew I needed to incorporate not only the machine but some hand work too…

 

I digitized a back and front of the owl the same size and shape. I was able to combine the front and back in one hooping to make it easier.

I wanted to make as much in the hoop as possible… actually, I could have make the whole thing in the hoop, if I made the back first in one hoop so that when working on the front at the last stop I could  match it up sewing right sides together. I left an opening in a seam at the back so that I would have a way to turn and stuff the owl… But since I combined them in the one hoop I manually stitched them together.At first I just digitized circles for the eyes….but…. I wanted her eyes to really pop, so  I added crocheted flowers …. and that’s the hand work I wanted to add!!

All that’s left to do is stitching together, turning inside out, stuffing and sewing her closed.

Best buds already!

 

 

 

One response

  1. Terri, I’m seeing owls everywhere but yours are the cutest!!!

Leave a Reply

