More with sizzix and machine embroidery

I was asked to participate in a gift/art sale on November 10th. I will have more on that event later, but for now I have to make items to sell…. 

I came up with an idea for making fancy dishtowels. I had a couple of yards of this heavy weight woven chambray striped fabric I used as the base fabric for the towel. I usually don’t like a lot of embroidery on dishtowels because the embroidery becomes bullet-proof after a washing and then too dense and heavy to use.  Hand-work is great… but time consuming. So, I came up with light stitching and appliques to embroider in the machine. The sizzix shapes are from Tim Holtz altered flowers die.  This embroidery stitching is light and adds lots of color especially with the matching fabric for a ruffle.

 

I wanted to identify my work and to add hand-stitching somewhere so I made a label and  used a simple and fast running stitch to put it on the towel on the back corner. I sort of think it adds more character and hopefully charm to the towel.

 

 

One response

  1. Too pretty to dry dishes…love the label!!!

Leave a Reply

