Wedding dress

I was 23 when I married my Knight in Shining Armour. We were young and lacked money, I never say we were poor, because we were rich in so many other ways.

Our budget was $600 for our wedding ….. everything! I catered the reception and rehearsal dinner myself and friends baked assorted yummies to add to the buffet table at the reception as gifts.

I made my dress and hat/veil for $20.00. It was the height of “Dallas” popularity and Alexis Carrington with her huge shoulder pads and straight fitting classy sassy outfits were my style.

I’m still waiting for shoulder pads to come back, and this dress had football pad sized ones… Ooooo I had the big hair to go with it too!!

The Veil has a hat base which I covered and beaded with little pearls, the toile was a big puff at the crown of my head and then down the back.

We were married at a beach Chapel in October and threw bird seed, which a few pieces remain in the veil today!

Leave a Reply

