All-over lace Dress

 

This is a dress I made years back for my youngest daughter. She loved purple!!! I found the  plain polyester sheer fabric on the dollar a yard table  at walmart and I knew I had to have it. It sort of sparkles and is see through so I knew I had to layer it somehow. It was to  plain and need some dressing up . I had an idea to make an all over lace with my sewing/embroidery machine and it so happened that Creative Embroidery Magazine wrote an article about making lace. I believe there are four designs combined and multihooped together to create this bodice.

I remember tracing the bodice pattern piece whole on one layer of the sheer purple fabric. My main concern was the bottom as I wanted a ‘finished edge’ of lace all the way around. I drew a center front line through the bodice and started with the two scroll designs to mark and make the bottom center edge. From there I just filled in with random designs mirroring and rotating he designs and moving the hoop. Back then it was my 4″ hoop only on my Viking #1.  Today I would combine as many as I could in the 12″x8″ hoop and away you go. There are simple scroll designs out there today that would work wonderfully. I did check to see if these designs were still somehow offered, but I couldn’t find them not even on my computer which must have been my old desktop.

The trick I suggest is water soluble stabilizer on back and if you are creating your lace on netting or something sheer-er than the fabric above use either two layers of netting or two layers of water soluble stabilizer one on top and one on bottom of the fabric.

The lining fabric is a light weight purple chambray fabric found also at Walmart. I miss old walmarts fabric section, where I live we don’t have a fabric super store like JoAnns or Hobby Lobby. We have a few wonderful quilt shops but sometimes garments need more than quilters cotton.

I hemmed the sheer fabric with a tight rolled edge from my serger to match the thread of the lace on top. It’s still such a pretty dress, and she loved wearing it so much.

I’m slowly moving one house to the other and going through things has unearthed some thrifty sewing finds so I will post more as I come across these oldies but goodies.

3 responses

  1. Thanks for the posts I really like lace!!

  2. WOW!!! This is just gorgeous. Only you would tackle a project of this magnitude with a 4 x 4 hoop! Didja ever dream that one day you’d be embroidering 12″ x 8″??? It’s a wonderful sewing world we live in!

  3. Terri…you never cease to amaze me!!! So creative & resourceful! BTW: WalMart is bringing back fabric depts in WNY stores. The very small, old, soon to be replaced store I shop at in Lockport has the biggest/best selection of any. Not many $1-2 fabrics but still alternatives to what is available at Joann, Hobby Lobby, and our awesome quilt stores. And I always find a few remnants when I visit a nearby church thrift shop…

Leave a Reply

