Henslowe

 

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/search#query=henslowe

I found this pattern on Ravelry a couple of months ago. I knew that while I was away in Indiana I wouldn’t have a computer, or sewing machine or …. well… that I would be unplugged, so I needed a traveling project.

I bought the pattern, printed it (enlarging the directions) and found the perfect hand dyed sock yarn at Knit and Purl. I wound the skeins and had everything in a zip-lock bag ready.

In the Myrtle beach Airport I cast-on and away I went. The garter section is fast and easy, and when I got to the second section I realized the first yarn skein was about out, so I went to the zip-lock bag for the second ball. No Luck, I looked everywhere. I guessed and hoped I left it at home.

 

I did! Phew… so this is as far as I got and is now ready for the next traveling project. In the mean time….. and just into my second week of my visit  I had to have something! We were out shopping for more of my Mom’s spray paint color which could only be found at Hobby lobby when I spotted a patons lace ball of yarn with enough yardage on one skein to do the Henslowe pattern.

 

Before blocking…

 

After Blocking… and…. before weaving all thread tails in apparently!

Henslowe, by Beth Kling (found at the link above on Ravelry) is a terrific first time Lace knitting project. I tend to avoid lace even above fair isle or color work because if you do make a mistake is’s hard to back knit to fix it with all the yarn overs and knit togethers.  BUT! this pattern is wonderful written and easy to follow for a first time success. I will not only finish the first one I started, but I may have to knit another in some hand dyed sock yarn almost to pretty to hide on my feet! The lace section is surprisingly simple and the border picot edging was completed while watching the opening of the olympics without any problems. Again I owe this to the directions by Beth Kling…. great job! Here is a link to her other patterns, which I am so going to check out since this one was so well done. http://www.ravelry.com/designers/beth-kling

I am so glad I had this with me for our trip home. We used the new Vision Airlines. It was a direct flight from Indy to Myrtle Beach taking about an hour and half and was to take off at 7:00 in the evening.  We arrived at Indianapolis International at 5:00 pm  for the security stuff and the nightmare began. We didn’t arrive home until 5:00 am. My Mother always says “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything…..”  all I will say then is don’t use Vision Airlines! I all but completed the Henslowe in one 12 hour stretch!!! (well, sort of…. I stopped and started many times trying to find out any information about our missing flight home….)

This pattern is so worth the effort!

5 responses

  1. Oh, so pretty! With this lovely finished project, are you really annoyed with the delays caused by Vision Airlines? Silver linings, you know……

  2. jenny Bielefeld | Reply

    BEAUTIFUL!!! How come you got the looks and the talent in the family???? Love you!!!!

  3. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. | Reply

    So glad you had such a pretty project for your trip!

  4. That is gorgeous! Thank you for sharing with air your laundry friday! xo Jami

  5. […] The first one is here:  https://thethriftyneedle.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/henslowe/ […]

Leave a Reply

