Eloise T Smith

 

I had a wonderful surprise yesterday afternoon. I got a call from Eloise and she was in town visiting, so I rushed out the door to go see her. Eloise is a dear sweet wonderful woman, who also happens to be a master sew-er, teacher and inventor of the Tuck and Point ruler used to make sharks teeth. In the picture above is a pillow we taught together at sewing at the beach years back using the ruler tomake the sharks teeth pattern.

Sewing at the Beach is having their 20th year celebration this year and in honor of Eloise and with her blessing I am going to teach this class and all of it’s wonderful techniques again at Sewing at the Beach 2013. There may even be a surprise visit from Eloise this year if all the planning can work out. She would love to be there…… hope you will too!

For any info on Sewing at the Beach go to their main web page, http://www.sewingatthebeach.com/ . Classes are just about finalized and most should have the pictures all posted… January will be here before you know it, even though I can’t imagine being cold since I am sweating just standing still in this triple digit heat wave!

I can not go on how nice this woman was to me, I was a young Mom living far away from family. I sewed for comfort, to earn money and to create clothes, but when I was introduced to a sewing guild, I found friendship. Eloise was one of the first people I met, she invited me to her home and just welcomed me, included me, and inspired me. Thank you Eloise!

4 responses

  1. Hi, I got a Tuck and Point Guide designed by Eloise Smith in a box of items my husband bought for me at a garage sale. I am moving into a new sewing studio and decided to see what this guide can do. I found the patent information but couldn’t find any kind of instructions. Do you have any idea where I could get some instructions? Thanks in advance for any help you can give me. Alicia

    1. I just found this comment, I will find the directions and post them for the ruler. I will also send you a copy. Sorry for the delay.

  2. I too would like the directions to your Tuck and Point Guide Ruler. Have you posted
    them and if so where would I find them?

    1. I found them… and here they are… Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

