Necessity is the Mother of invention

Thread comes in all sorts of cones and spools in different shapes and sizes.  When sewing you want the thread to ‘spool off’ in an even fashion for the best sewing results.

I was taking a break from painting during a pop-up storm today. The only machines I have at the Riverhouse are two treadles.  Now, back in the day when ladies sewed on these I don’t think thread on industrial cones were available to home sewers…. The thread came on spool and fit nicely on the thread spindle, which fed nicely into all the guides for a perfect stitch.

I only had read thread on a cone… what to DO?? The cone will not fit on the spindle nor will it spool off evenly.

There is a sewing notion called the thread-pro. It is a base with with two spindles, one horizontal and one vertical. It goes behind the machine to guide the thread up and over for better threading…. I didn’ t have one with me… so let’s get creative……. I hope you can see this….. It got dark out side in that fast and quick storm. I had a spool of wiring and I removed the mini blinds turning bar. I stuck that bar in the center of the spool to hold it up right. I Then just threaded the cone thread by placing it next to the spool and up through the hole on the bar… I brought it around to the machine in front and thread as normal.

Here are some examples of what I have at home…

Here is a close up of the top if the bar … I added bent paperclips in the ones at home

Here is another one I have with an added bee’s wax ring I have used that a number of times for cording or gimp or yarn  in couching and decorative  machine work. The two I have at home are from broken mini blinds, the one at the riverhouse today was NOT broken and I didn’t want it to break, but it has a clear plastic hook on the end which hooks to the mini blinds. That hook is perfect for just hooking the thread and guiding to your machine.

It really is a simple fix. In my classes I have made emergency thread guides out of a liter soda bottle (empty) and a dowel rod or mini blind bar and it works wonders on tricky threads to run smoothly. Just insert the bar into something that will hold it upright.

3 responses

  1. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. | Reply

    You are a good problem solver! And what a cool sewing machine!

    1. Thank you! That is Eloise, She is a gift to me from Eloise T Smith. Her husband Joe gave that 1950 singer machine to her as a wedding gift. It was motorized, but when she gave it to me the motor and cabinet were in bad shape. I loved it back together by removing the motor and hooking it up to a treadle machine cabinet that I happen to find on the road side curb!

  2. You are so clever! I once disengaged a mini blind twisty bar to use for a pleater dowel. But I’ve never expanded into multi-part equipment mock ups! What a gal!

Leave a Reply

