Up-cycle Chairs

This poor chair had a hard life… I cleaned and sanded and tried to fix it up, but the cats claws did too much damage to the legs, arms, feet….

Paint to the rescue…. and I made my own version of Annie Sloan Chalk paint with this recipe:

http://elizabethandco.blogspot.com/2012/03/how-i-make-chalk-paint.html

 It took almost three coats….

I re-covered the seat (after removing 3000 staples and tiny nails) with an embroidered piece of medium weight linen.

Isn’t she beautiful now…. 🙂

6 responses

  1. This is the first time I’ve heard of chalk paint! Tell me more about it’s advantages as I have two end tables in desperate need of new life! Does the waxing require loads of elbow grease?

    1. It depends on what type of finish you want… I waxed one and that was ok, (you know me…. I didn’t like the sticky on my hands….LOL) then on another project I painted over the chalk paint with a coat of the base paint without the other items and called it finished. (No rags with wax all over my hands!!)

  2. Great makeover! You have so many awesome projects here. If you’re looking for a new place to share your creative ideas, come check out Etcetorize. Would love to see you there~

  3. Wow, I love the transformation! Great job!

  4. Very nice, please link it up with me today at Wow Us Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

