T-Shirt Rug

Look at this rug..

http://www.etsy.com/listing/43532832/handmade-mega-doily-rug

It is a beautiful crocheted doily rug made with rope.

I want one….

I have made t-shirt rugs before:This one is getting old, but they hold up so well…

I’m going through clothes right now, and once again I have old T-shirts that really should have their life ended … So..

I cut them into “tubes,”  from side to side across the body of the shirt.

Get several shirts cut then start joining them like this…

Lay the new tube (the one you are adding to the length) on top.

Pull the new tube through the bottom tube and then p through itself.

Keep adding and wind into a ball.

Now back to the original idea at the top… crochet these t-shirt scraps into the lace doily pattern for a rug! I can’t wait to start!!!

I also have to share these photos of my jasmine this year..

 All the up to my sewing porch

5 responses

  1. Paulette Miller | Reply

    Jane’s rug is amazing. Wondered what size crotchet hook she used until reading she uses her hands!!! Love your colorful rug too! Think your joining tip will work for the woven cotton strips I use for my rugs…thanks for the idea.

  2. Looks great! The kitchen re do in previous posts is terrific.

  3. First, I LOVE the tee shirt rug. What a great project and thanks so much for the very clear how-to. Second, your jasmine and house and yard just take my breath away. The sweet perfume of those flowers must make you feel like you are in heaven. I just keep scrolling over the pics. Just beautiful.

  4. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co. | Reply

    Love the idea of recycling old t-shirts into cool rugs! And your jasmine is beautiful!

  5. […] Remember my T-Shirt ball of yarn I made here: https://thethriftyneedle.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/t-shirt-rug/ […]

Leave a Reply

