Multi-tasking and paper making

I Knit this sweater from re-cycled yarn. The yarn is a denim-ish man’s sweater that I un-knit and reknit into a pullover. I washed it and hung it on the line to “block” it. While I was doing that I….Was cooking dinner and cutting up veggies to store in the freezer for future meals. This saves tons of time. These are 2 of my hardest working “maids” and time savers. Not only do they save time, they save money, and to be honest what is better that a hot soup and warm fresh bread??? Next, while I was working in the kitchen I had an egg carton that I was re-purposing…… into homemade card-stock for more business cards.I first tore it up into small pieces, soaked it in water then with my food processor I  added more water and made a pulpy mix. (make it more soupy than in this photo) Then I poured and formed it into home made screens (mesh fabric in an embroidery hoop) to create homemade paper.Yucky looking isn’t it. I had enough to make two screens and one shortbread form.

I put them outside in the sun to dry…along with my sweater and lovely clothes pin holder….more sheets and towels on the line. Back upstairs to another 6 dozen chef coats to be altered and embroidered….. and (two days later) home made paper is ready…. With my sizzix and die cut I have these ready to make into my next batch of business cards…. Look how cool the shortbread mold turned out as paper…. I plan on cutting the pieces and stamping the other side and have triangular cards… Here’s a close-up

So, this weekend I have to tie in ends of yarn on  my husband birthday socks….and make two more birthday hats, bake valentines cookies for my son’s school, Boys Scouts pancake breakfast, date night and….. Wow what a week! phew!

Have a great weekend! Stay warm

4 responses

  1. Hi,
    Love love love the paper. Its so fun looking. You are so talented.It is very cold here. I am ready for summer. Here is a link to my Etsy store, when you have time check it out see if you have any suggestions for me.
    http://www.southernnsassy.etsy.com
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend.
    Jennifer

  2. I was impressed when you posted your handmade business cards…now to learn you’re making the paper. Awesome!!!

    1. My first batch of cards were made with store bought card stock, then I ran out…. So I’m trying this???

  3. Awesome! That is not a word I use frequently, but YOU are awesome, your projects are awesome and your energy is awesome. After reading about all you do, I’m going to take a nap.

Leave a Reply

