Nana’s Donuts

 

My Nana showed us the Love by baking wonderful homemade donuts when she came to visit. There is nothing but the warmest and fuzziest memories when you smell that smell!

My Youngest and I made a batch at Thanksgiving time and he wanted “all donut holes so we would have more.” I was planning on making a batch of dough today so that tomorrow we have something fun to do on Christmas Eve together and on Christmas Day have yummy donuts!

This isn’t hard to do, but it involves a lot of time. I am posting this as a gift to my Brother and Sisters, and for my extended family, because I am sure my cousins feel the same way about these donuts that I do. Once you make a batch of these donuts you then will understand the amount of Love that Nana had for us,  because this is a labor of Love! This is December 1988. Nana was holding her first great granddaughter, a perfect 10 month old Calvy.

I copied from her recipe file the donut recipe then, and I still have that worn and torn index card and now it will be preserved for the whole family to pass down.

Nana’ Donuts

3/4 cup butter

1/2 cup Sugar

1 Cup room temp milk

2 large eggs (room temp)

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

4 cups flour (all purpose )

4 tsp yeast

Nana used Crisco… I can’t …so I use Cannola oil for Frying.

Beat Butter and Sugar until light and fluffy, add eggs one at a time until fully mixed in, then the Vanilla and salt. Add 1/2 the flour and all the  yeast and beat on low until just mixed, then add 1/2 the milk, add half the remaining flour  mix in. Then mix in the rest of the milk, determine how much of the rest of flour you need to add…. the Dough should be moist and sticky, not runny or not hard. Nana’s recipe said “about 4 cups!”

In a lightly greased bowl,cover and let dough  rise until doubled in size about 1-2 hours. Press down, cover and put in the refrig over night. The over night part is what gives the dough the flavor, so don’t rush this part!

Roll out the dough on a floured surface about 1/4″ cut into shapes let stand or rise for about 30 minutes.

Prepare the pot of oil ( Nana got good at this with a couple of pots going at one time!!) Heat Oil until 350 degrees. Add donuts one at a time gently don’t put to many in at one time. Cook a minute or so until golden then flip, same thing on the other side about a minute. Use a slotted spoon to remove from oil and put on a cooling rack.

We like them plain or shaken in a bag of powdered sugar, but you could frost them or put cinnamon/ugar… whatever. This batch makes about 3 dozen donuts

Merry Christmas to all of my family. Leave me a note when you make a batch, and we’ll all be thinking about Nana!

Leave a Reply

