Home again!

I spent the weekend with The Palmetto Pleaters in Greenville SC, and they are a delightful group of women to sew and share with!! Fridays Machine Shadow-work applique class was so much fun, and speed sewer Cindy zipped right through her work with total perfection!

Here are more diligent ladies focusing on their pin-stitch.

Darnel, won the day’s prize for best notion and tip idea…. To keep your bobbins neat and together wrap a small fat pony tail holder around it to old the thread together. The little pony tail holders come in a pack of about 20-25 at the dollar store.  I also like Barbara’s tip: at a tool or hardware store (She mentioned Northern Tools) there are metal “parts” bowls with a magnetic bottom for about a dollar in different sizes.  Put pins and odds and end in them and they “stick” to her metal ironing board, even through the padding. If you bump the board  the bowl holds your “things” and it doesn’t knock off and all over the floor. I have a few others from the ladies I will share but I want to take photos so that they make since.

I wanted to show more of the first class, however, I must have forgotten to wipe my lenz, because …. well, blury…

Friday Night we had a wonderful Dinner together at Mimi’s Restaurant. Thankfully, Kathy was my driver for the evening and she also drove  me over to Barbara’s  for a private viewing in her shop, http://www.finestitchery.com  I was forbidden 🙂 to take pictures that evening as she said it was a mess….UGH>>> NO Way…, it was creative passion, piles of inspiration and a riot of fun, and…. I forgot my camera in my car. Barbara is going to send me photos and I’ll post more then.

Saturday we had the pillow/tote class, and I’ll tell ya, Peggy is a hoot!!!This is her front in Christmas colors and design.

 

Look how different each Front is with the same fabrics. It’s funny that these three  ladies were the only ones who chose to add a bird.

Except for three of the kits that I made and brought, everyone else opted to make their own kits so everyones was different and fun. I liked the fact that they brought what they like to work with in style and color and it worked! I must admit I was a bit apprehensive about everyone having a different kit in a 6 hour class. It could have been a teachers worst nightmare, but it was a blast to see all the different styles and colors!

Bette with her very neat and symmetrical design…. Yes, I said neat, in design, just not on the floor and around her sewing area….. LOL

Ann and Barbara’s turned out completely different, but I think they match exactly to their owners style and demeanor!!

Kathy, my fearless driver and her lovely colors.

and Marilyn’s very cheerful purples…. matched her to a “T!”

Thank you Greenville Ladies for treating me so well, for making me feel so at ease and for such a lovely fun weekend!!

 

 

11 responses

  1. I enjoyed my weekend with you so much, Terri! The classes were so inspirational. I can’t wait to catch up on laundry and grocery shopping so I can sit down and play with my machine stitches and embroidery threads! :o)

    1. Sewing is way more fun than laundry so hurry up and get back to the machine! Thank you again for driving me and taking care of me while I was in Greenville. I really enjoyed myself and Greenville! Thank you so much!

  2. What a fun class! What lovely projects! What a great teacher!

  3. Terri, what a fun weekend of classes. You have such a bubbly personality and you always had an answer to any problem we had. You made everyone feel comfortable no matter what their sewing experience was. I’ll holler as I go through Conway on my way to the beach in June 2012! P.S. Next time I will bring one of those rollers to get up all those threads & scraps!

    1. You do that… Holler loud because in June on 501 you’ll be there awhile. I just liked picking on you about your threads and scraps all over teh floor… I am the exact way…. that’s why God created a vacuum!!

  4. Terri, what a fun weekend of classes. You have such a bubbly personality and you always had an answer to any problem we had. You made everyone feel comfortable no matter what their sewing experience was. P.S. Next time I will bring one of those rollers to get up all those threads & scraps!

  5. Terri,
    This was a great class for all of us to show our creativity with our fabric choices and designs. I loved doing this and will finish this project for sure. I did not feel rushed or pressured in anyway…just a really fun day with friends. So sad that it ended too quickly. You have lots of other classes that I would sure like to do too. It was great to talk to you about the various machine strengths.

    1. When will you get your 1630 home from the “hospital?” It did go quickly… and I enjoyed meeting you.

  6. 2-3 weeks…not heard anything as of yet. Thanks for asking.

    1. Call them… it shouldn’t take that long….???

Leave a Reply

