Packing up and heading to Greenville

I am packing up what seems to be half my sewing studioKits and samples and STUFF are ready to pack.

NOW the big question… What to wear???

I wanted something new and fresh…. but?? SO, a quick look through my favorite Goodwill….A beautiful men’s, made in England, Madeleine Finn Pink linen shirt! Oh my gosh these shirts are like $100!!! Score! $3.00 to me and a remake to begin! If it were a blue or white shirt this would totally remain as a man’s shirt for my DH, but… it’s pink and no-way, even with four kids and marine made, will my man ever  wear pink! SO… Yippeee!!!

When remaking a shirt plan for more seams than the original. I opted for princess seams both back and front. Also since a man’s shirt buttons on the opposite side than a womans, I re cut the fronts up side down using the original button placket (to save time, this was Monday and I leave Thursday.)

I was also able to simply cut down and re-use the sleeves and cuffs since they were a more tailored cut.

I zig-zagged the seams instead of just top-stitching them…I actually thought of that after I did everything and was ready to hem so I accidentally zig-zagged through my label in the Center-back seam…oopppsLast thing I did was to change the buttons to a pearl, more lady like fancier button…..

So,  a  pair of dark jeans and pink cowboy boots…. one outfit down!My favorite footwear!

Years ago when I first started teaching, Laura Jenkins Thompson teased me about my boots (I have a fairly good collection.) I thought,” oh dear I should dress up more!”  For years I did, I over-dressed sometimes but I wanted to look professional and to have ladies take me seriously.  Now, I’m older, and I want to to be comfortable and have more fun…. Now, I tease Laura, because I thinks she just wants my boots!

Check out her lovely and perfect work at:  http://www.laurajenkinsthompson.com/

 

 

4 responses

  1. Terri – Can’t WAIT to meet you tomorrow!!!! I always like it when the teachers wear interesting outfits, then if the class is boring or I get ahead I can look at their clothes!! hee-hee!! Looking forward to our classes!

  2. Palmetto Pleaters classes were FANTASTIC!!!!! THANK YOU Terri!!
    LovedLovedLOVED the classes!! It’s SEW great to be SEWING again!
    Thanks!
    ps – Terri – I have pictures for you, ples send me your eamils

  3. Hello,
    Thank you so much for coming to teach us here in Greenville. I enjoy you and your class very much!!!! I also have so much more now to do on my machine and I am so excited to get busy.
    Again thank you.
    Jennifer Kirkland

    1. Get busy! You will have so much fun with that wonderful machine of yours… don’t be afraid you did beautifully!!!

Leave a Reply

