Bed Pillows

I wanted to show some closeup shots of my bed pillows. The blue and white square quilted shams are without a flange, the back is closed via an envelope closing.  I used velcro instead of either a zipper or buttons because it is smoother, and probably at the time I was making them I had velcro and not enough of the other types of closings….

I quilted the top by machine using a “mock hand stitch.” This is achieved by threading the top with Monofiliment  thread, and in the bobbin thread with the color you want in this picture it is blue. Below is another look at the mock hand stitch on an embroidery club project I taught several years ago.

The Machine Mock Hand stitch goes like this….  Forward one stitch, backwards one stitch, forward one, forward one, backwards one, forward two repeat from the beginning. That sounds really confusing but let me explain. The forward/ backwards part pull up the bobbin thread to the top of the fabric, that’s why you want the color thread. The two forward stitches are the monofiliment parts on top, the part that blends into the fabric and you don’t see, thus creating a blue stitch then a clear stitch. On my Brother Ult I used custom stitch to create that stitch and on the Ellisimo I think there was a quilting stitch already programmed in the quilting menu… the Vikings have a preprogrammed stitch in the quilting menus  E2. I am positive the berninas have this stitch as I helped a lady in class find it on her machine, but I can not remember which one it is and on my Bernina 1008 there isn’t that stitch like that .

Another tip with this stitch is to tighten the top tension so the bobbin thread is pulled to the top.

The next sham pillow is my circle design. I quilted the white background first, (actually I was only going to make all white quilted shams but then changed my mind.) Then I  added random sized circles of blue scraps by free motion quilting the edges and sometimes the centers too. The back of the sham is also an envelope style closing using buttons to close up the opening ( I happen to have four matching at the time so it was easier than velcro.)

 These are my maderia appliquéd pillow cases. Nothing really matches, they come close, so that’s my eclectic style and it sort of works in it’s random-ness. I taught a Machine maderia appliqué class and these were some of my samples.

Now last on the bed in the picture is my Canadian smocked pillow. It’s also called lattice smocking and  Honeycomb smocking… sort of all the same technique with different variations. All of the stitching is on the back of the fabric. The fabric is marked in a gridded pattern, you stitch and pull to create a pattern on the front.It looks harder than it really is…. here is a link to a a good site with a tutorial:

http://katafalk.wordpress.com/2010/02/20/lattice-smocking/

Oh and yes, that is a left over square tablerunner on my night stand.I made this with all of the left over small squares of fabric and I did it all on my treadle machine outside on a beautiful May day. In fact all of the small squares were constructed on my treadle outside on my porch. I chain pieced and pieced for a few hours and it was so lovely! The whirl of my treadle and nature…. perfect. The quilting which is free-motion was also treadled.

Last but not least, my dog-bone pillow. It’s not really a dog bone, but a neck pillow. Spend a day sewing and then at night time lie flat on your back with this pillow at the nape of your neck and then you know why I love this pillow!!! My Friend goes to a chiropractor and she bought a pillow like this. I copied it( way, way cheaper!)  I’ll see if I can figure out how to post a sketch of the pattern. It’s three pieces of fabric  sewn together with an opening to stuff it. The shape looks like a dog bone, fat on the ends and skinny in the middle. I’ll get back to you about a pattern, I need my daughter for this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

